The meeting of the Evaluation Committee for the ECCOMAS award for the best PhD theses 2017 was held on April 6th, 2018 at CIMNE, Barcelona. As an answer to the call for tender, the ECCOMAS member associations nominated 17 theses (one of them nominated by two associations). The Evaluation Committee was composed by Nils-Erik Wiberg (chairman), Stefanie Reese, Wulf Dettmer, Boniface Nkonga, and Pedro Díez (secretary).

After a detailed discussion, a voting process was held in two phases. First, after a secret voting the number of theses was reduced from 17 to 8. In a second round, the number was reduced to 4 theses that were ranked well above the rest. Then the committee discussed the merits of these 4 theses, evaluating the different aspects of each and unanimously agreed on selecting among them two winners.

The two winners are:

  • Dr. Silvia Budday (Germany) for the thesis “The role of Mechanics during Brain development”
  • Dr. Matthias Faes (Belgium) for the thesis “Interval methods for the identification and quantification of inhomogeneous uncertainty in Finite Element models”.

These theses are outstanding works in Computational Methods in Applied Sciences combining excellent knowledge of both theory and practice, with special insight in the fundamental and computational aspects. Both, the two winners are pieces of research that extend the frontiers of the fields of ECCOMAS, and open our community to new problems and methodologies. The award decision was based on the relevance of the topics, the originality of the theses, their scientific content and the innovative numerical developments. Moreover, both theses are very well written and meticulously presented.

The list of finalists selected by the local-regional ECCOMAS Association is the following:

Author Title of the theses Local Association Country
Nikolao T. Chamacos Design of micro- and nano-structured surfaces with tunable wettability GRACM Greece
Mariana de Campos Madeira Simão Fluid-structure interaction in pressurized systems APMTAC Portugal
Francesco Fambri Discontinuous Galerkin methods for compressible and incompressible flows on space-time adaptive meshes GIMC/AIMETA Italy
Alex Gansen Multiscale modelling of anisotropic composite media for EMC applications UKACM UK
Gregor Gantner Optimal adaptivity for splines in finite and boundary element methods GAMM Germany
Liang Meng Reduced Shape-space Approach to Material Characterization – instrumented Indentation Test Case CSMA France
Adrian Moure Phase-field modelling and isogeometric analysis of cell crawling SEMA / SEMNI Spain
Josef B Nagel Bayesian techniques for inverse uncertainty quantification SWICCOMAS Switzerland
Robert Nagy Towards a novel method for estimating rupture risk CEACM Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Hungary Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, The Czech Republic
Dalibor Nikolic Computer Modeling and optimization of stent design SSCM Serbia
Valentin Resseguier Mixing and fluids Dynamics under location uncertainty GAMNI/SMAI France
Lorenzo Siconolfi Stability and senssivity analysis for flow control SIMAI Italy
Vamsi Spandan Bubbles and drops in turbulent Taylor-Couette flow: numerical modelling and simulations NMC Netherlands
Erik Svenning Multiscale modeling of ductile fracture in solids NOACM Norway
Balbina Wcisło Large Strain thermomechanical material models accountin for inelasticity,instabilities and gradient enhancement PACM Poland